Department of Pathology Faculty National Professional Recognition

  1. Allan Tucker, MD was elected chair of the Graduate Medical Education Committee of the Association of Pathology Chairs for a three year term, which includes serving on the executive council of the of that organization.  He was selected for the finance committee of the International Academy of Pathology, and he was also selected for the finance committee of the U.S. and Canadian Academy of Pathology as well as the abstract review board and the role of ambassador.  He is secretary/treasurer of the History of Pathology Society. He is treasurer for the Society for Ultrastructural Pathology and chair of the pathologist-in-training award committee.  He continues to serve on the Electron Microscopy Ad Hoc Review Group of the Veterans Affairs Administration, and is treasurer of the History of Pathology Society.  He is an alternate member of the American Medical Association Resource-Based Relative Value Scale Update Committee (RUC).  He is a member of the Economic Affairs Committee of the College of American Pathologists, and chairs the advisory committee on practice management for the Association of Directors of Anatomic and Surgical Pathology.  He is also a board member of the American Registry of Pathology.  He is an associate editor for Ultrastructural Pathology, and an editorial board member of Annals of Clinical & Laboratory Science and the Southern Medical Journal.

  1. Elizabeth Manci, MD continues as a member of the Board of Censors for the Mobile County Medical Society and was elected to the executive committee as secretary/treasurer.  She continues collaboration with Dr. Barry Coller on study of platelets and a murine model of sickle cell disease at Rockefeller University in New York and with Dr. Louis Hsu on study of a murine model of acute of test syndrome at the Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute at the National Institutes of Health at Bethesda.  She is also collaborating with Dr. David Irwin at Emory University on the study of lung disease in patients with sickle cell disease. 

  1. Gary Carnahan, MD, PhD is an inspector for the College of American Pathologists, and was a team leader for an inspection at Lake City Medical Center in Lake City, Florida.  He is also an assessor for the American Association of Blood Banks, and conducted inspections in Englewood, New Jersey and Prince Fredrick, Maryland.

  1. Carole Boudreaux, MD was the principle investigator on a clinical trial for a preservative for molecular pathology studies in the cytology division, which she led to successful completion.  This is one of the first clinical trials in the department.

  1. Andrea Kahn, MD was elected to membership in the Association of Directors of Anatomic and Surgical Pathology.  She is also a member of the International Union Against Cancer Global Cancer Control Community.

  1. Elliot Carter, MD serves as associate counselor for the South Medical Association and on the Board of Censors for the Mobile County Medical Society. 

  1. Jacek Polski, MD serves as an editorial board member on the Annals of Clinical and Laboratory Science.

  1. Michael Titford, BS serves on the safety committee of the National Society of Histotechnology.

Contact UsContact_Us.htmlContact_Us.htmlshapeimage_6_link_0
Department of PathologyHome.html
Residency ProgramResidency_Program.htmlResidency_Program.htmlshapeimage_17_link_0
Medical StudentsMedical_Students.htmlMedical_Students.htmlshapeimage_18_link_0
Recent PublicationsRecent_Publications.htmlRecent_Publications.htmlshapeimage_20_link_0
Local CommunityLocal_Links.htmlLocal_Links.htmlshapeimage_21_link_0
Pathology ResourcesPathology_Resources.htmlPathology_Resources.htmlshapeimage_22_link_0